Bride Reviews

Ballara Receptions

1435 Main Rd Eltham
VIC 3095
Eltham 3095

(03) 9431 1503

5 / 5 Based on 19 reviews

It was never going to be an easy feat organizing a wedding from the other side of the world (my now husband and I are based in London) in only 6 months, however the incredible service, support, exceptional attention to detail, level of organistion/ coordination and flexibility that we experienced from the team at Ballara – Fiona in particular (who was our function manager), Amanda and Jan, surpassed all our expectations. It was quite simply outstanding! I am so appreciative of my fantastic parents who came across Ballara in the first place and convinced us to go with Ballara when we were remotely deciding on wedding venues. We were all immediately impressed with the team’s professionalism from the on-set. No request or change in proceedings etc was too much to ask for and I am so grateful to Fiona for accommodating the many phone calls, responding to all our emails so promptly even with the time difference and even Skype calls particularly in the weeks leading up to our special day. The service that they provided with helping to accommodate all the logistics of arranging a unique ceremony (Poruwa) and reception, as well as all the advice and suggestions regarding the practicalities of the day was second to none. We couldn’t fault anything from the beautiful chapel which proved to be the perfect venue for our Poruwa ceremony; the catering and service staff who were absolutely brilliant; the scrumptious 3-course menu option that we went for and catering for the multitude of dietary requirements and requests; the recommendations with the photographer – the wonderful Chris Garbacz, Abracadraba for the special effects during our bridal waltz and ofcourse our delightful DJ/ MC of the night – Nader Elalfy who really knew how to read the crowd to get all our guests up and dancing including even doing the conga at one point, the florist Helen who did the floral arrangement for the table centre-pieces which were mind-blowingly beautiful; the gorgeous garden features which provided ample photo opportunities – our professional photos tell the story; to the sheer beauty and grandeur of the stunning ball-room for our reception which provided the perfect back-drop to the celebration of our marriage. Whilst Chris and I had never even been to Ballara physically until two or so weeks prior to the actual wedding, our wedding was truly sensational, spectacular even and so much fun in every way and it is a day/ night that both we and our many guests will never forget and we will personally treasure during our lifetimes. An immense thank-you to everyone at Ballara who made our wedding the joyful and magical event that it was.

Brenda.L
  • 5
Nov 22 2016, Wedding Venues

Ballara were wonderful. They had fantastic communication and were extremely helpful leading up to the wedding. The packages were great for the price. The venue is stunning and they were great on the day too. I couldn’t have asked for a better team and venue!! We had an amazing day, great food, friendly staff and I would recommend them to anyone.

Hannah.C
  • 5
Nov 14 2016, Wedding Venues

We got married at Ballara on Friday the 22nd of July 2016 and the entire experience from the first viewing of the venue to the moment we waved goodbye to our guests it was the perfect experience. Ballara advertise all of their prices on their website, so you can feel prepared before your first meeting with the wonderful staff. When you enter the property, you feel like you have stepped into a beautiful, vintage, classy place that is inviting and peaceful. The layout of the venue with the gardens, chapel and reception with foyer is a very smart, elegant set up. Don't get us started on the food, the canapés are so tasty, entree was incredible and big enough that guests were satisfied with what they had already, the main meals are also a generous portion. There is a great variety in the menu and you can even alter the menu choices, they are so flexible. The desserts are clever with a tasting platter available so that your guests can try a little piece of a few delights. The staff are very experienced and guide you through the entire day, there is no stress for you at all and they make sure of it. We are so happy with the memories that we have from our wedding day at Ballara.

Hayley .W
  • 5
Aug 8 2016, Wedding Venues

We got married at Ballara in May, and we couldn't have imagined a more perfect venue in our wildest dreams. Fiona and the team paved the way for the smoothest wedding ever, including outstanding food, fantastic service, a beautiful ceremony - not to mention the amazing scenery of the venue itself. Everything about our day went perfectly thanks to their hard work; my family was a little skeptical about having to travel from my hometown in country Victoria for the Big Day, but one look at Ballara silenced any concerns! It really is a fairy tale location, and they made every guest feel at home, which really eased my husband's and my stress on the day! I can't recommend Ballara enough to any couple looking to get married - food-wise, customer service-wise, scenery-wise, and preparation-wise, they really were incredible.

Caitlin.P
  • 5
Jun 7 2016, Wedding Venues

We had our wedding in December of 2015. We had both our ceremony and Reception at Ballara using the beautiful chapel for the ceremony. Ballara was the perfect venue for our wedding. The event managers and all the staff at Ballara were extremely helpful in the lead up to our wedding, nothing was too much trouble and on the wedding day, Ballara were faultless. Their attention to detail and professionalism made our wedding day one to remember. The venue itself is extremely well maintained allowing for beautiful wedding pictures and all the meals were beautifully presented and tasted even better. We could not recommend Ballara Receptions enough as a wedding venue. Thank you to all the staff at Ballara for making our day so memorable.

Emma.B
  • 5
Apr 12 2016, Wedding Venues

We got married at Ballara Receptions in February 2016, we chose the venue based on the beautiful gardens and the way they are constantly kept manicured, the beautiful elegant buildings and of course their very helpful friendly staff. On the wedding day they delivered nothing but high quality service, a great amount of support to the Bride and Groom, the day was absolutely perfect, I got so many comments on the beautiful food and grounds. A big thank you to all the staff for their support on our very special day xxxx

Alexandra.D
  • 5
Mar 13 2016, Wedding Venues

06/02/16- Where to start... Ballara is a beautiful venue that always looks immaculate. All of the staff are so helpful and make the wedding process so stress-free. ALL of the guests have not stopped raving about the venue, the food and the staff. Our day was truly amazing and it wouldn't have been possible without the amazing staff, especially Fiona & Jan. Thank you!!

Jess.B
  • 5
Feb 14 2016, Wedding Venues

From the first day we visited Ballara, we felt supported and looked after. Amanda and all the team ensured our day was perfect. Their attention to detail and flexibility with our needs was amazing. The gorgeous garden area with multiple areas for photos and beautiful reception room made our wedding day memorable and we couldn't have asked for anything more. Thank you for helping us create such wonderful memories that we will treasure forever.

Marianne.T
  • 5
Jan 14 2016, Wedding Venues

Outstanding! Ballara was an absolute amazing venue to have our wedding. I have never felt so welcomed and special than what Jan was towards myself and my husband. She made sure everything went to schedule and made it a stress free day for us. Jan made sure throughout the night that we were ok and had everything we needed. She went above and beyond for us. I have just got my professional photos back and they look amazing. The garden areas are just beautiful. The Chapel was amazing. The reception, DJ and food were all fantastic. I highly recommend this venue.

Nicole.D
  • 5
Dec 6 2015, Wedding Venues

Perfect - without a doubt the very best experience you could ever wish for. They are truly committed to making it the best day possible - nothing is too much trouble and everything is fuss free. Jan was our function manager and she only ever approached us with positive news and always to make sure we were being looked after. Everyone of Ballara's suppliers were of a comparable standard. As an Italian/Greek wedding there were a lot of wedding experts to impress and Ballara achieved this and more. Maximum stars to Ballara - they are amazing!

Jenni.R
  • 5
Oct 4 2015, Wedding Venues

Thank you so much Fiona and the whole team at Ballara for a perfect wedding reception! The venue is stunning, the service and food was wonderful, and the whole process was just as stress-free as possible. All of our guests commented on how great everything was on the night, and we could not have been happier with choosing Ballara. Thank you again!

Gorana.K
  • 5
Sep 6 2015, Wedding Venues

I hadn't heard of Ballara until my maid of honour suggested we take a look. It is the most magical place and from the moment we drove in the drive way my Husband and I knew this is the venue we would like to have our wedding. The photo opportunities the grounds provide are absolutely amazing. The service, the attention to detail and the food we had at Ballara for our reception could not be faulted. They made our entire wedding process so simple and enjoyable right from the planning stage through to our incredible wedding day/night. I am so happy that we were married and had our reception at such a beautiful venue.

Riki.P
  • 5
Jul 9 2015, Wedding Venues

Made everything very easy, entertained every request and made the day run very smoothly. Food was great too! Helpful, friendly and accommodating - if you want a fuss free and stress-free wedding pick Ballara!

Davina.L
  • 5
Jul 4 2015, Wedding Venues

The service, the attention to detail and the food we had at Ballara for our reception could not be faulted. They made our entire wedding process so simple and enjoyable right from the planning stage through to our incredible wedding night. Being from the Western suburbs many of our family had not heard of Ballara before but everyone said it was more than worth the drive. The night was amazing and the venue we had definitely made it. I am so happy that we celebrated our marriage at such a beautiful venue, which also offered brilliant food and service. They also catered well for the multitude of dietary requirements we had.

Rene'e.G
  • 5
Apr 25 2015, Wedding Venues

There was nothing to fault about Ballara. Not only were their packages amazing, especially when on a budget, but the inclusion were above any other venue. Our day 07/03/15 went on without a hitch. Service was amazing, food was delicious, and the atmosphere was exactly what we wanted from our day. The night could not have been more perfect if they tried! THANKS BALLARA!!!

Elizabeth.W
  • 5
Apr 8 2015, Wedding Venues

Ballara Receptions is a simply magnificent place to have a wedding. The staff are so lovely and accommodating and were so helpful on the day settling everyone's nerves. The food was delicious and all my guests were blown away by the beautiful gardens and chapel. I can't recommend Ballara highly enough, their packages mean you don't have to stress about a thing in the lead up or on the day, as they have everything under control. Call Ballara now to ensure your wedding day is the best day of your life!

Regan.G
  • 5
Feb 11 2015, Wedding Venues

Amazingly beautiful and elegant. The staff go well beyond expectation in order to make the day as easy, stress free and special as they can. Everything was perfect.

Jessica.S
  • 5
Jan 16 2015, Wedding Venues

I have no idea where to start, these guys were amazing, they helped us through everything, from organising the ceremony to picking the menu. The food from here was fantastic and the service impeccable. The staff are so friendly and willing to help with everything. The function coordinator is so helpful during the day/night, making sure everything from the music to the dinner service runs according to plan. When I past this place from the outside, I knew this was going to be my wedding venue. The gazebo and lake, with the weeping willows makes the venue so picturesque. The chapel on site is beautiful, with stained glass windows and lovely wooden pews. I fell in love with this place the moment I saw it.

Yvonne.T
  • 5
Apr 10 2014, Wedding Venues

I honestly don't know where to start with these guys. Ballara helped make our wedding the most perfect and memorable day/night that we could ever wish for. Right from our very first meeting they were extremly professional and helpful. I had a good warm feeling about the place from the moment I walked in and that feeling transpired with every meeting and phone call I had with them. Not only were we over the moon with the rennovations, but the food and the service on the actual night was second to none. I have lost count of the number of compliments I have received about the look of the venue, the food and the service. Our event manager Clare could not do enough to help us with anything we needed. Constantly making sure we were happy and was at our beck and call for anything we needed. To be honest I do not have the words to thank the team at Ballara enough and I can not speak more highly of them. My only wish is that we could do it all over again! A very well run business that never lost site of what the day/night was all about.

Megan Clark.C
  • 5
Nov 29 2013, Wedding Venues

Advertise with Bride Online
Advertise with Bride Online